

## **CONTACT**

Scott Johnson Executive Director Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

## News Release

## **Agriscience Fair Winners Announced**

ANKENY, IA - The Iowa FFA Agriscience competition was held at the FFA Enrichment Center in Ankeny on Tuesday, March 30th. The Iowa FFA Agriscience Fair is open to 7-12 grade students. Students have the opportunity to exhibit their Agriscience research in six different categories: Animal Systems; Environment Services/Natural Resource Systems; Food Products and Processing Systems; Plant Systems; Power, Structural and Technical Systems; and Social Systems. FFA members from Iowa that are selected as a national finalist in grades 7-12 may earn the opportunity to compete in the National FFA Agriscience Fair later in the fall.

As part of the National FFA Agriscience Fair, students showcase their project and interview with a panel of judges. After all students have been interviewed, national summer judging scores are then combined with convention interview scores to calculate the overall ranking of projects within each category and division. Each participant is ranked gold, silver or bronze and receives a pin. The top three projects in each category and division are recognized for their efforts on the main stage during a general convention session. During this recognition ceremony, final ranking is announced.

The top three projects in each category received medals for their achievements and each overall division winner will receive a plaque and be recognized at the 93<sup>rd</sup> Iowa FFA Leadership Conference at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. The Agriscience Fair was made possible with support from Nationwide through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the FFA Agriscience Fair are listed below.

###

## **About Iowa FFA Association**

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of more than 16,300 student members as part of 248 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Placing	G, S, B	Advance	Division	System Area	Chapter Name	Chapter PO	First	Last	First	Last
1 - Division 1 Winner	Gold	Х	1	Animal Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Gabrielle	Hoeger		
3	Silver		1	Animal Systems	North Fayette Valley	Elgin	Braelyn	Meyer		
2	Silver		1	Animal Systems	Red Oak	Red Oak	Ella	Johnson		
2	Silver		3	Animal Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Annaliese	Bloom		
1	Gold	Х	3	Animal Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Grace	Helle		
2	Silver		5	Animal Systems	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Breanna	Baumler		
4. Animal Cartana 0										
1 - Animal Systems & Division 5 Winner	0-14		-	A:	Dardon Ortholia	D				
	Gold	Х		Animal Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Jasmyn	Hoeger		
3	Silver			Animal Systems	North Fayette Valley	Elgin	Alice	Sass	Hannah	Schroeder
2	Silver		2	Animal Systems	Red Oak	Red Oak	Grace	Goldapp	Lena	Torbett
1 - Division 2 Winner	Gold	x	2	Animal Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Luke	Wessel	Isaac	Burlage
2	Silver			Animal Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Riley	Binder	Emma	Smith
1 - Division 4 Winner	Gold	х		Animal Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Drew	Thier	Leah	Thier
1	Gold	х		Animal Systems	Des Moines	Des Moines	Danielle	Lonsdale	Idania	Carrillo
2	Silver	^		Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	North Fayette Valley	Elgin	Michael	Baumler	Idama	Carrillo
1	Gold	х		Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	Oelwein	Oelwein	Lorraine	Glew		
1 - Systems Winner	Gold	x		Environmental Services/Natural Resource System		Danville	Carlea	Beckman		
4	Silver	^		Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Madalvn	Forbes		
3	Silver			Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	South O'Brien	Paullina	Ben	Woodall		
2	Gold			Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Lauren	Cherne		
5	Silver			Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Jordan	Thier		
2	Silver			Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Tyler	Salrin		
1	Gold	х		Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	Oelwein	Oelwein	Aryn	Glew		
1	Gold	X		Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems	North Scott	Eldridge	Jessica		Taylor	Maybua
		Х		,				Kroeger	Taylor	Mayhue
2	Silver			Food Products and Processing Systems	Red Oak	Red Oak	Raevyn	Lucas		
	Gold	Х		Food Products and Processing Systems	North Fayette Valley	Elgin	Sarah	Dean		
2	Silver		3	Food Products and Processing Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Allison	Ehlers		
1 - Division 3 Winner	Gold	х	3	Food Products and Processing Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Libby	Knipper		
1 - Systems Winner	Gold	х		Food Products and Processing Systems	North Scott	Eldridge	Bram	Mess	Hailey	Rossmille
1	Silver	Х	1	Plant Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Madelyn	Reiter		
	Silver			Plant Systems	ACGC	Guthrie Center	Presley	Buttler		
	Bronze			Plant Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Laina	Sangwin		
	Bronze			Plant Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Catelyn	Haight		
2	Gold			Plant Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Addisyn	Burlage		
3	Gold			Plant Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Ellie	Recker		
1 - Systems Winner	Gold	х		Plant Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Tessa	Tauke		
1	Bronze	х		Plant Systems	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Rayce	Meyer	Greg	Anderson
2	Silver		3	Power, Structural and Technical Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Spencer	Rea		
1 Systems Winner	Gold	х		Power, Structural and Technical Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Joe	Schneider		
1	Gold	Х		Power, Structural and Technical Systems	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	John Paul	Grebner	Jake	Hoefler
1	Bronze	х		Social Science	Red Oak	Red Oak	Clark	Spencer		
2	Bronze	,		Social Science	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Alexis	Scholbrock		
1	Silver	х		Social Science	North Scott	Eldridge	Olivia	Freund		
4	Bronze	^		Social Science	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Rebekah	Buettner		
3	Bronze			Social Science	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Olivia	Mensen		
1 - Systems Winner	Gold	х		Social Science	South O'Brien	Paullina	Grace	Fuhrman		
2	Silver	_ ^		Social Science	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Isabell	Kruse		